Of Subs and Crows

Submissions by the numbers – or not

I made four short story submissions in March, doubling my goal of 2 per month. Of course when I look back to the beginning of the year, I’m 4/6, or 4/8 including April so numbers continue to dampen any moment of celebration I might have.

Focusing on the submissions themselves, one story was rejected within 24 hours, two await a response, while Arctic Marauder made it through the first level of slush and has moved up the ranks for review by a senior editor. It’s not yet an acceptance but makes me feel pretty good.

My real-life horror story

dark-souls-wallpaper-3 (hdwallpapersearly)I use my daily walks to work out plot issues and mentally outline stories as I circle a 5K section of the Rideau Canal. I’ve been walking the same section for years and could pretty much do it blind if not for other pedestrians, runners, cyclists, strollers, pets and gaping holes peppering the East side that open all the way down into canal water, threatening the loss of a lower limb. Other than for those life-threatening dangers, I can pay minimal attention to my surroundings and focus on stories.

Usually around this time of the year, and for several weeks, I need to change my route as a family of crows have taken to nesting on the Pretoria bridge and mommy crow attacks me every time, approaching from a blind spot and holds on to my cap for dear life with her prehistoric claws as she pecks the hell out of my head until I run – wildly screaming and swinging – out of the kill zone. I’ve never seen others attacked so I’m not sure if it’s to protect her young or a protest against my fashion sense, but the experience is always terrifying. It’s probably happened 8 or 10 times by now, but invariably I think it’s a whole murder of crows attacking and find out it was one  lone bird. I can’t even imagine how Tippi Hedren felt filming that scene in “The Birds” but I wouldn’t be surprised if she had to keep a defibrillator nearby.

It’s still snowing these days so maybe the crows are also off-schedule but they will be coming for me soon. I still wear the hat but I am currently shopping for trekking poles so I least I will have a fighting chance this year. That walking loop is mine and when I divert I can’t get my writer thinking done so watch out for me this year, mother crow.

I’ll be ready for you.

WWR#1515

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

